BS15000 / BS 15000 / ISO 20000  
IT service management standard  
Information, products and services  

 ISO20000 - Resources for the IT Service Management Standard Contact Us Front Page

The ISO 20000 ( BS15000 / BS 15000 ) ITSM Standard

BS15000   Information Security   BS 15000 Related Books   Contingency Planning   ITIL

ISO 20000 (formerly known as BS15000 / BS 15000), is the world's first standard for IT service management. The standard specifies a set of inter-related management processes, and is based heavily upon the ITIL (IT Infrastructure Library) framework.

This directory is intended to serve as a start point for your ISO 20000 / ISO20000 needs. Whether you are entirely new to the topic, or whether you are a seasoned ITIL or service management practitioner, you should hopefully find something of value.

WHAT IS ISO 20000?



ISO20000 consists of two parts.

ISO20000-1 consists of 10 sections: Scope, Terms and Definitions, Requirements for a Management System, Planning and Inplementing Service Management, Planning and Implementing New or Changed Services, Service Delivery Process, Relationship Processes, Resolution Processes, Control Processes, and Release Process

ISO20000-2 provides assistance to organizations that are to be audited against ISO20000-1 or are planning service improvements.

Both parts can now be obtained online


The ITIL (IT Infrastructure Library) is the major supporting framework aligned to standard. It consists of a number of sets or volumes. Originally process driven, the ITIL approach was refocused in 2007 to adopt a lifecycle approach.

Although the UK Government originally created the ITIL, it was rapidly adopted across Europe as the standard for best practice in the provision of IT Service. Although the ITIL covers a number of areas, its main focus is on IT Service Management (ITSM).

ITIL was traditionally divided into two main areas, Service Support and Service Deliver, which consisted of disciplines. The 'lifecycle ITIL' however comprises Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement.




The major ITIL disciplines, embraced by version 2, are as follows:.

These are divided into the topics of Service Support and Service Delivery as grouped.


A comprehensive service level agreement is an essential requirement for the provision or receipt of any important service. It quite simply defines the parameters for the delivery of that service and is core to supporting many of the key provisions within BS15000:
             Service Level Agreements

Security and risk assessment are, of course, key elements within responsible service management. The following sites provide for both security and risk management:
             Security Risk Analysis
             Resources for Information Security
             ISO 27001 / 27002 Compliance

Finally, a number of portals exist which offer guidance upon the topic of contingency planning:
             Contingency Planning World
             The Disaster Recovery Guide
             Disaster Recovery World




The ISO 20000 Service Management Standard
Instant Download and Purchase


New: Our ISO 20000 & BS15000 Bookstore details various books on ITIL and IT service management generally.

We hope that this directory has been of substantial use. If not present within the site itself, the links provided should direct you to a suitable source. If, however, you need any further assistance, or have any comments on this portal, please contact us



             ITIL is a registered trademark of CCTA / OGC. IL
             General: ComputerContractor AFSMI IT Papers

Copyright © 1993-2016 BS15000 Associates Group      
Advertisers Gateway Listed